Skip to main content

What are occupational maps?

All apprenticeships, Higher Technical Qualifications, and T Levels are based on ‘occupations’ recognised by employers. An occupation is skilled employment which has similar requirements across employers and workplaces and which meet IfATE’s criteria.

We group occupations together that have related knowledge, skill requirements and behaviours into 15 ‘routes’, making it easier to see how they connect to one another.

The occupational maps are simply a way of showing the relationships that exist between education, qualifications, apprenticeships and occupations in England. We call them maps because they help people to find their way through the careers and training landscape more easily.


Why use the occupational maps?

The maps are really useful and they:

  • show a summary of what each occupation involves
  • show the average salary you can expect to earn
  • show how environmentally friendly an occupation is in relation to the UK’s climate change goals
  • show what knowledge, skills, and behaviours are needed for a particular job
  • show where technical education can lead
  • help employers and individuals to understand routes for progression
  • show how occupations at different levels link together
  • link to our progression profiles to help you plan your career journey

The maps also show the types of technical education products available for each occupation including:

  • apprenticeships
  • Higher Technical Qualifications (HTQ)
  • T Levels
  • and coming soon, level 2 and 3 qualifications

Use of the occupational maps is free.




Sharing and comments

Share this page

Leave a comment

We only ask for your email address so we know you're a real person

By submitting a comment you understand it may be published on this public website. Please read our privacy notice to see how the GOV.UK blogging platform handles your information.